Cranbourne Cup News

Twelve talented horses have been confirmed in the 2016 Cranbourne Cup field; offering punters exceptional value from a betting standpoint and several key opportunities to place a winning wager. The Cleaner is yet to show much through three competitive starts for Peter Gelagotis, but interestingly remains a $4.60 favourite in…

Cranbourne Cup

The 2017 Cranbourne Cup is a 2025m listed quality handicap worth $200,000 in prizemoney. Run at the Cranbourne Turf Club in Victoria, the Cranbourne Cup is the feature event of the day and is part of the annual Spring Racing Carnival.

The 2017 Cranbourne Cup will be held on Sunday, October 8th, 2017.Cranbourne Cup

Special Offer:
Get up to $500 in Bonus Bet* from Ladbrokes

First run in 1898, the Cranbourne Cup is one of the best country cups and attracts handy staying horses targeting bigger races in the Spring.

Winners of the Cranbourne Cup include horse that have gone on to win bigger races during the Spring Carnival. Noble Comment, winner in 1983, ran second in the Melbourne Cup. Big Barron won the Cranbourne Cup in 1992 before winning the Group 2 Dalgety (now called the Lexus Stakes) on Victoria Derby Day. Lisa’s Game won in 1998 and went onto finish second in the Caulfield Cup.

The most notable winner of the Cranbourne Cup is probably On A Jeune who won in 2004 and went onto finish second in the 2005 Melbourne Cup behind Makybe Diva. The 2012 winner, Midnight Martini, won the Group 2 Matriarch Stakes later in the Spring.

Cranbourne Cup Winners

Recent winners of the Cranbourne Cup.

Year Winner Time
2017 TBD TBD
2016 Did Not Run NA
2015 Digitalism 2:08.6
2014 Mourinho 2:06.5
2013 Pakal 2:06.3
2012 Midnight Martini 2:06.8
2011 Boom N Zoom 2:06.6
2010 Starmon 2:06.8
2009 Sermon 2.04:8
2008 Majestical 2:03.1
2007 Emerald Jack 2:05.6
2006 Blue Collar Jack 2:06.5
2005 Show Barry 2:04.6
2004 On A Jeune 2:03.4
2003 Kattavia 2:07.5
2002 Eagle Rhythm 2:03.9
2001 Bush Padre 2:04.5
2000 Brave Chief 2:02.6

The Cranbourne Cup is the country town’s equivalent of the Melbourne Cup.